If your dog is over six months of age, State of Connecticut law requires that you license your dog. Dog licenses are issued throughout the year; however, renewal of current licenses takes place during the month of June.
If your dog was licensed in Burlington last year, you will receive a renewal notice the first week in June. The expiration date of the rabies certificate currently on file with the Town Clerk's office and neutering or spaying status will be on the renewal notice. If the date of the rabies certificate on the renewal notice has passed, an updated certificate will need to be presented before a license can be issued.
Current licensing fees are as follows:
- Spayed or Neutered: $8.00 (with proof of altering)
- NOT Spayed or Neutered: $19.00
- Penalty for Late Registration: $1.00 per month per dog beginning July 1st
A $75 fine will be imposed by the Animal Control Officer on unlicensed dogs in accordance with the State Law.
Per Connecticut State Statute Section 22-338, all Dogs must be vaccinated against rabies and owners must submit a certificate to the Town Clerk when licensing their dog.
Dog Registration Application: Click here to view or download.